Have You Lost Objects? If So, Have You Wondered Where They Go?

Another dimension?

Michael Trigg
4 min readApr 11, 2024
Photo by Leo Foureaux on Unsplash

Last year, I stopped wearing my gold wedding ring as it had slipped from my thinning, aging ring finger twice, fortunately at home, not outside where it could have fallen through a drain grid or at the local sandy beach.

The ring sat on my bedside table for a while. After knocking it onto the floor a couple of times, I placed it in a container in the top drawer of my dresser where I have a collection of rare coins, with the intent of getting the ring re-sized at some point.

About a month ago, I decided to take the ring to a local jeweller to get a quote on re-sizing. However, a search through the container in the dresser drawer revealed no ring. I also did a search of the drawer and then, all the other drawers — still no ring.

Hhhhmmm…….

A few days later, I emptied all the drawers in the dresser and searched through the contents. No ring…….

This led me to thinking about other objects that have mysteriously disappeared. One, a miniature stylized Kiwi from a set of three, (an adult and two small ones) made from jade stone, vanished without trace several years ago and has not been seen since, last seen, sitting on a book case.

--

--

Michael Trigg

A “Jack of all Trades” and master of some: Mechanic, Writer, Sales Rep, TV producer, Management, Insurance Agent, Consultant www.handshakeconsultants.com